best selling author, sci-fantasy, Spiritual

Not Every Reviewer Fits.

I received an e-mail today from a book reviewer who started to review two of my books. The e-mail was polite and pleasant, and the reviewer gave me some food for thought. The reviewer commended the works as excellent, the technical side was great, the research used was thorough, but she was unable to finish the books because of my writing style.

My writing style is known as Omnipotent Narrative, and the story is told from the narrator’s position, it is an effective writing style for the genre I write in. Not every reviewer will fit your writing style, and not every writer will fit a reviewer. It is the based on the preference of both. I grew up reading the works of Edgar Rice Burroughs, JRR Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Robert E. Howard, Anne McCaffrey, et al……, if you are a fan of action adventure stories that are about the adventure and the action, then my stories are right up your alley. If you are looking for character driven stories, then probably not.

My Characters are fully developed, but as a reader of books, I want what I am reading to be fast paced, to hook from the first paragraph and keep me on my seat until the last page is finished. I write in that style. I know that I am not the only one who enjoys this kind of story, and it this is not the first time someone has made the comment that my stories leave you very little time to catch your breath. Boo, that was the intent.

Those who like to be entertained, amazed by the backstory, and see the characters go through adventures and find yourself in worlds of swords and sorcery, ancient gods, myths, legends, and other things of that nature, then pick up one of my books. I wrote the books with that in mind.

When I was a boy, I couldn’t wait to get to the local grocery store to pick up my newest comic book, or get to the little library in the town I lived in to get a Tarzan story, or any of the others I have mentioned already, it is about preference. I write what I like to read, and I like fast paced, action packed stories. That being said, I have read just about all the classics, from Homer to Jules Verne.

Enjoy a good book, and one that you want to read.

 

John R Moore

cropped-welcome-to-my-imagination-2.png

6 thoughts on “Not Every Reviewer Fits.”

Leave a comment