best selling author, sci-fantasy, Uncategorized

What drives you to write?

What drives you to write? In my case it is the desire to share my imagination and the stories that play in my head. Writing has many benefits, it is therapeutic, it is a release, it is an avenue with which you have an opportunity to be creative.

Have you ever read a story that sparked your imagination and moved you to want to create something of your own? That is what motivated me. I grew up reading. I read everything I could lay my hands on, I used my library card regularly, and I had a mother and some aunts and a cousins wife who was a librarian that kept that spark alive and burning.

My first book that I could say was my own book was Edgar Rice Burroughs: A Princess of Mars. My mom bought the book from the Doubleday Book Club. She believed reading could open the doors to your imagination. Well, quite frankly it did. I began to read everything I could find, and a few years later, I got a copy of Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern, the  first three books in a combined hard back edition. I own that book today, along with the complete series, as well as the complete series of John Carter of Mars, and the tales of Middle Earth by Tolkien. These books, these stories, fueled my imagination for years and eventually became the catalyst of my own stories.

All anyone needs is the inspiration to write, and from there the sky is the limit.

Enjoy books, read often, and if you become inspired, create your own worlds and stories and publish them for the world to share.

WELCOME TO MY IMAGINATION (3)

Leave a comment